Hack of the Whenever I Get Around to It

February 16, 2007

Shards of Microcontrollers

Filed under: Uncategorized — Chris Merck @ 12:36 am

I work with PIC microcontrollers quite often and occasionally burn out the chips due to overvoltaging or general stupidity. I burnt one out a while ago and decided to crack it open to see what is inside. Here are two photos of a shard of a PIC16F870 I opened with a hammer and screwdriver, taken with a Sony Cybershot 5.1MP camera through a 10x magnifying glass. I tried to use multiple lenses to increase the magnification, but it did not work well.

(about the size of a fine grain of sand)

Here is what the IC looks like before it is smashed to bits:

This was the first IC I have opened, and I haven’t found any easter eggs yet.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

